meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm too old.

Am I too old to go to a rave?

If I'm asking myself that question, I probably am.

My first concert ever was Bon Jovi and Skid Row at the Carrier Dome.

I'd be willing to bet that rave kids parents grew up with that 80's feel-good rock music, and because of it, the rift in understanding between the two generations has widened.

Here's a song lyric that just popped in my head on the ride home last night:

"Out on a border

of a changing skyline,

we put hope in front of fear.

And all our heroes

have gone east of Eden.

We all need new frontiers."

Profound, itn't it.

It's "Frontiers" by Journey, and it never was a popular tune, but I'll be damned if I couldn't get it out of my head. Even singing "Love Shack" to myself didn't help, so instead, I fell asleep on a nice Chinese woman I was sitting next to. She smelled like jasmine.

Albums I have bought because of one song I heard:

Urban Dance Squad - Mental Floss for the Globe ("Deeper Shade of Soul")

Utah Saints - Utah Saints ("Something Good")

Tori Amos - Little Earthquakes ("Silent All These Years")

Tori Amos - To Venus and Back ("Bliss")

note: I just mispelled her name as I typed it and caught myself, so now I wonder if she would have been taken as seriously if her name actually was 'Tori Amooop'.

Harry Belefonte - Greatest Hits ("Day-O")

Tribe Called Quest - The Low End Theory ("Scenario")

Brand Nubian - All for One ("All for One")

The Donnas - Teenage Rock and Roll Machine ("Checkin' It Out")

What about a 'faerie' in the Tori Amos fanatic way and a raver girl kind of 'faerie'? Is that just the new way to spell 'fairy'? I think it looks better as "faerie".

Kittie - Spit ("Brackish")

Seal - Seal ("Crazy")

REM - Out of Time ("Losing My Religion")

Sting - Dream of the Blue Turtles ("Fortress")

Office Space - Soundtrack (Damn it Feels Good to be a Gangster" by The Geto Boys)

Cornershop - When I was Born for the Seventh Time ("Brimful of Asha")

Sublime - Sublime ("What I Got")

Tom Waits - Mule Variations ("Hold On")

Van Morrison - Best of Van Morrison ("Sweet Thing")

Blind Faith - Blind Faith ("In the Presence of the Lord")

Sugar Ray - Floored ("Fly")

Alanis Morrisette - Jagged Little Pill ("You Oughta Know")

- and isn't that song why everyone bought it?

311 - 311 ("Down")

What have I accomplished today?

10 minutes late for work (8:10). Sheri was 20 min. late.

This diary entry.

Drank some water and ate a Hostess apple pie.

Listened to Elvis Costello.

Played virtual pool.

It's 10:52.

I despirately need to see an orthopedist about my back. I don't know a whole lot about anatomy and physiology, but something in my back ain't right. Stuff is moving back there that before just didn't. And the massive pain.

12:25:56 - 2000-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants