meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Time is a tricky concept

Woke up as my snoozed alarm went off for the third or fourth time, thinking I was going to be noticeably late to work. Since I am not paying for my gas service yet, I set the thermostat at my new place at a comfortable 72 degrees, so it was a struggle. The new place is only about a five minute walk to the El, luckily. Listened to my bigass headphones on the commute. Can't stop listening to Kool Keith. Walking up the stairs at the Monroe station, some joker tugged on my ponytail from behind. Reeling around, fist clenched, to distribute some hardcore streetjustice, I discovered that it was the girl. She asked, "What the hell are you doing going to work so early?!" And I said, "Um, I think you're really late." But I was very wrong. I had set my alarm clock wrong, tricking myself into getting to work on time. Dammit. But that also means I leave at 4:00, so I may just try and keep this schedule going.

So disappointing... Watching tv last night ("The Osbornes" again did not fail to disappoint), an MGD commercial began with a familiar song playing in the background. I found myself saying, "No. Don't be that song, nooo!" And sure enough, it was "Gravity Rides Everything" by Modest Mouse. Fuckers. I mean if you're gonna sellout, at least do it for a quality beer, not no damn MGD. If they had any taste, they'd have sold the song for a shitload of Chimay, or at the very least, Pabst Blue Ribbon, or it's Mexican equivalent, Tecate.

Oh, and you really ought to be listening to the Jimmy Castor Bunch right now.

Rock,

-M

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'll be there like Vladimir packing in your ear
Dr. Smith, Will Robinson make you say "Oh dear"
- K.Keith

9:36 a.m. - 2002-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants