meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The more I know, the more I'm afraid of the future. More scotch needed.

Watching "Justice League" on Cartoon Network. As much as I'd like to get into the more indie-avant garde kind of comics, I just likes me some superheroes. Oh, and fucking Brett fucking Ratner is going to ruin Superman in his retarded manhandling of the allegedly upcoming Superman trilogy of films. Jeez Lex Luthor sure has a chip on his shoulder.

Watched "Amelie" today. The world sure could use more magic. I need more childlike awe in my life.

I'm torn now over the Israel/Palestinian issue. Having read Joe Sacco's fantastic "Palestine" I now have a different perspective on the conflict. And though I consider myself to be relatively well-informed on world events, it's just odd I have never before known the Palestinian side of the conflict other than the suicide bomber attacks in the news. Neither Israelis nor Palestinians are free from blame in their decades-old hostilities. Each has suffered immeasurable pain and loss at the hand of the other. Israel is surrounded by her enemies, and must defend itself against all possible threats. But I also now understand how Palestinian men and women can strap bombs to themselves and kill their enemies. It's fucked up and awful and I can never support their tactics. But I also do not support the subjugation of Palestinians by the IDF. Palestinians have been penned up, uprooted and moved them from their lands, their olive trees destroyed (I man what the fuck is up with that?!?), seen their semi-permanent housing destroyed based on mere suspicion, and remain used as Israel's cheap labor pool. I'm not saying their retaliation is right or just. It's not. I'm just saying I understand their position a little better. Both sides are incredibly wrong. I'm fucking glad I'm not a peace negotiator. Pray for the Middle East negotiators for peace.

The nations of the Middle East who have not tasted the freedom of Democracy cannot separate the concepts of the American government from the American citizen. In their nations, they have no political voice. Their opinions are dictated to them by the state. It's funny how similar their political situation is to the reality of our own. Unfortunately, we cannot vote the president out of office if we don't like what he is saying or doing. The minority of Americans and the Supreme Court have installed him, and we, as American citizens cannot vote not to drop bombs on Iraq. It just doesn't work that way. War is just a foregone conclusion at this point. Iraqis and Middle Easterners can only conclude that this is really what all Americans want - to starve them via the trade embargo, and to drop bombs on them via our military. And can you blame them when you realize that we have given Israel an average of $15 MILLION dollars per DAY in aid for the LAST FIFTY (50) years. Much of it in the form of military hardware. Who doesn't want peace? Ask Raytheon (Patriot missles), Northrup Grumman (radar equipment), Boeing (Apache helcopters), Lockheed Martin (F-16s), Exxon/Mobil (jet fuel), United Technologies (Blackhawk helicopters).

If I was a Syrian or Jordanian or another Middle Eastern citizen, I would hate American foreign policy too, because I would see how they aid your enemies and destroy your allies.

Life is fucking complicated. Especially when you know why your enemies hate you.

8:00 p.m. - 2003-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants