meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Screeching Weasel

OK, 11am, and this is entry #2. But I had a big weekend... So I met Phrank at the Sports Corner next to Wrigley Field after I left the focus group. He had come to town from Las Vegas with the expressed intent to see a rare show by the phenominal punk band, Screeching Weasel. Yes. Screeching Weasel, who Phrank said changed his life in a deep and profound way which made him want to be a punk rocker, and he really is and who I saw on Saturday, and you prolly didn't and they rocked and played everything that I and the people I was with ever wanted. Anyways, Phrank and I started drinking around 730p and left about 1130. Back to my apt. and picked up another case o'beer and watched "Sling Blade" as we waited for our other friends to arrive who were driving from upstate NY. We drank until 4am, when Fred and Chrissy and Kyle arrived, and we drank and caught up on times and smoked an unhealthy amount of pot. We ended up trying to catch some sleep around 7am. The show was at 2pm. 3 hours later, I was making breakfast, smoked, and then off to the House of Blues downtown. We all could barely stomach the three opening bands - The Eyeliners' (an all-girl punk outfit) songs all sounded the same and boring. Teen Idols' (heavier, more rocking but with vocal harmonies and a 50's geek punk appeal) were a little better, but that's not saying much. The Jackie Papers sure were snotty, weren't they? Yes, they were. Except the guitarist couldn't play a decent solo, and the lead singer laid on his "I don't care" punk attitude so thick that deep down, you could tell he really did care...

And then Ben Weasel and his band came out and the place went nuts. With good cause, as Screeching Weasel seldom plays out. The band was tight, had an awesome sound, Ben sang well, and everyone knew almost every song they played. The topics that punk bands of this particular ilk revolve around certain simple topics - broken hearts, getting/having the best girl in the world, 'I'll show you'- type phony tuff-guy revenge, and various in-jokes not really known by most fans.

The set was short, with 3-4 encores, but everyone got their money's worth. After the show, most people were pretty quiet. I was physically and emotionally spent (keep in mind I was still stoned and a bit hungover and tired). We rode the L back to my place to deflate from the hectic experience. More pot and Jim Beam and the last of the beer, and more beer. Awful back pain forced me to send my visitors alone to Belmont Ave. to see a bit of Chicago people in the nighttime hours. They liked my new adopted city, and I was glad. I was more than happy to open my place up to those kids so we could all have a rocking time without spending lots of money.

The kids had to take off kind of early on Sunday for the 13+ hour drive back to NY. I had tickets to the sold-out Sunday night Screeching Weasel show too, which I bought before I knew there'd be an extra ticket for me. I held on to them all day, debating whether I should skip bowling to go to the rock show (it was very rad), and my back hurt quite alot (chronic pain just sucks) and I was by this time really broke and our apartment was a disaster. Even if I wanted to give these 2 tickets away to anyone, I couldn't have because I don't know too many people. I didn't know anyone who would have wanted to go with me either. And my job is getting worse and harder and stupider and I think I'm going to quit, and all this shit was in my head all yesterday and it made me feel awful and confused and quiet. I wanted to talk, but couldn't. I just generally felt miserable as I went to the bowling alley and put in an awful performance, all along with tickets in my pocket for a rock show for a band I might never see again.

But I had a really good weekend.

14:58:25 - 2000-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants