meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apparently, I'm Still Employed

Word up.

So today was a weird one.

Ambushed by a salesguy's email this AM, which happened to cc my boss, the regional boss, and our respective boss in NYC. Bad stuff. So an hour later I got a call from the New York superboss who asked me if I could call her back from "an office with a closed door". So I did, and immediately jumped into a preemptive strike to counteract all potential negative ramifications from my lazy stupidness, which itself brought about the tattletale useless "why am I being kept out of the loop" email from the jackass salesguy. He sucks. He makes me feel better about myself, in that he's about 31 and morbidly obese and devistatingly unhandsome. But I'm enraged that I heard he just got a $20,000 commission check for basically sitting on his ass. I'm not sure how that works, but I dislike him nonetheless.

I talked, she listened and told me to be more proactive about something or other, and she asked me if there was anything I wanted to ask her since I had her on the phone. I'd heard a rumor that everyone in my company would be receiving letters stating whether or not we were still employed. Either you'd receive a thinner envelope with a job offer, or a fat envelope telling you how to apply for unemployment insurance. This was the real purpose of her call. She informed me that I would be receiving a job offer from Reuters.

I'm very confused. It's so obvious I don't belong in this office, or this field of work. My hair is long and unstyled. My clothes unironed. I'm counting down the seconds until I go home and see what's on Noggin (I do luv digital cable!) I'm on the internet much of the day, fucking around. I say almost nothing to my coworkers in this office, generally because I find their company distasteful. I'm sure some of them think I'm either stupid or ineffectual or hostile. I think they are all just stupid and ineffectual.

And I consider myself to be a people person.

So... I have a job still. And that's not just a little fucked, I think. I'm just surprised I didn't get fired. Possibly disappointed too, but we'll hold off on that until I get that job offer in my hands.

Had sushi on Saturday with the girl. I really, really love edamame. She's good to talk to. I like her.

4:07 p.m. - 2001-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants