meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

interview

Dear diary,

Hi. Sorry I haven't felt really Diaryland-like lately. Wait. I'm going to go downstaris for a bagel.


I'm back.

So my boss is now 'rocking out' to Chicago's WBMX House music mixes circa '86-'87. Her favorite seems to be a track entitled "Booty Call". Or maybe "Planet Rock" or "Yo Yo, Get Funky". She's really fucking excited.

And also that awful salesperson whom we both dislike immensely...quit today! So we're both very excited. Good fucking riddance. If he comes around to say goodbye, I'll wish him good luck, but I won't mean it.

In more important news, I got tickets to the Donnas/Bratmobile show at the Metro in March. It's on a friday, so obviously I'm going to get superdrunk and scream to all of The Donnas how much I love them and possibly get in a fight but I haven't decided that yet for sure.

My nose seems to be bleeding and i have no explanation for this.

I had an interview on Monday with a social service organization. It went pretty well. I was enthusiastic, but polite and professional. Until I took off my pants.
No I didn't.
But if I were to get this job, I'd be assisting inner city kids in getting into college programs around the city. Sure they may not have free soda like here, but I get to drive a van! And isn't that what life is really all about?

So I'm pretty positive about that. After the interview, they asked if I could have a letter of reference faxed over to them. When I returned to work the next day, I quietly asked my boss if she could write one for me. She said, "Just write it, and I'll sign it for you." And so I crafted what may well be singlehandedly the greatest reference letter of all time. Lies packed back to back with bigger, more ludicrous lies! - not really, but I'll just leave it at "I'm a big damn liar".

Here's the deal. I suck at my current job because it is ill-suited to my particular qualifications and expectations, and therefore inpacts my work ethic. But I have been a good worker in past jobs. I really don't think I'm one of those people who can thrive in any working environment, because clearly I'm not that guy where I am right now. Technically, I can do this entire job, and do it well. But I also have to deal with unhappy, money hoarding bastards on a daily basis which makes me not want to help these people.

But there are people who need help, who need someone to help them believe thay can accomplish so much more than anyone has ever told them they could. Kids who never heard anyone tell them that they believe in them. Kids who never believed they would get a high school diploma, much less be looking at colleges and universities.

I'm tired of helping people who don't need it.

loveyou.

-meximick

14:24:12 - 2001-02-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants