meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parental Visit and Public Transportation Hell

So Ma and Pa are in town now. I call them such coloquial names because they are not my really real parents (whom I really should prolly call soon), but the parents of my roommates, but my roommates are more than roommates - they are like my brothers, hence, their parents are basically my parents. And I luv them. And you should too. Because they pretty well rule.

And we now have groceries, too. Lots of them. Inordinate amounts of bread and bagels and pasta and cake mix(!?) and vegetables and eggs and...

I'm fucking hyperventilating here. It's all too much.

We are loved. Maybe it's the kind of love that is imbued with the thought that "Oh, our poor boys can barely take care of themselves, the poor dears." But it's love nonetheless.

I'll take luv sprinkled liberally with pity, provided it comes with 3 boxes of Cocoa Pebbles and homemade meatballs. Nothing's too good for me!

And I'm going to see my roommate's play tonight. It's a rendition of Charles Dicken's novel Hard Times. I am promised lots of amusing hijinks and Victorian haughtiness, and circus performers. I don't get it either.

On Tuesday, I had a bad commuter experience for which I plan on suing the Chicago Transit Authority for exactly $1.50US. Boarding the Brown line at 6pm, the announcement came on that the train would not be headed north, but would circle around the Loop again due to a fire. A fire! Few people seemed to concern themselves with the severity of the blaze, rather, many lamented the situation by exclaiming such niceties as, "Aww fuck!" and "Are you fucking kidding me?!" Me being cheifly among them.

So the train circled around the Loop again. And then the announcement:

The fire has been extinguished. This train will now be headed north, and will resume normal service. Thank you for your patience.

Ahh. Fire out. But the train again circled around the loop. It stopped, and another announcement came on:

The fire has been extinguished, however, there has been an explosion further north. Electrical service has been shut down in that area.

An explosion!

I love this city and it's public transportation!

So I had to walk 10 blocks to catch a bus. The driver yelled to the waiting passengers, "The fare machine is off. Get on and shut up!" And I loved her.

And I got to yell at a guy. Loud. These girls at the back door saw this guy they knew, and called him over to chat. Meanwhile, the driver was about to pull away. The bus was packed. I was in the center of the bus, watching this, like everyone else. The driver couldn't yell over the throng of passengers, so I looked back and yelled to him, "Get on, or get off!" And everyone looked at me. But I was in full-on I've-been-riding-public-transportation-for-the-last-one-and-a-half-hours-and-going-only-3-blocks-so-don't-fuck-with-me mode. The stares faded.

And we were off.

Two hours and 15 minutes for a 35 minute trip.

12:14 a.m. - 2001-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants