meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was a graveyard smash.

Hi diary,

Here's some bad news - my company just got bought by a competitor. So me and my boss have been actively looking for new jobs. And apparently I've passed through a wormhole, which transported me to the 1930s Oklahoma Dust Bowl of job markets.

I've lowered my job criteria from the following list:
-Good benefits
-Chance for advancement
-Decent salary
-Positive work environment
-Location somewhere in the Loop

To this:
-Somewhere without a dirt floor

Well maybe it's not that bad yet, but I think I'm getting more desperate. Looking at the classifieds, if I were a truck driving accountant, I could write my own paychecks.

What does eyes watering and sneezing mean? Because I've got that. Like you can read about.

And for some reason, songs from "Shadow Dancer" by Andy Gibb have popped into my head recently. I think my mom used to have the 8-track, but I'm convinced I'm slowly decending into soul-tearing delusional madness. We'll see.

So I'm going to Philadelphia, "The City That Guys With Beards Built", in a couple of weeks. I'll see this person, and this person, and maybe meet her too. It should be fun. Unless the plane crashes. I sure hope not.

I have a wedding to prepare for in July. I'm a groomsman, but what the fuck that is, I don't know. I think I order the strippers. But Dave (groom) doesn't want strippers. He's a special guy. He used to ride the short bus.

So is my job done? I just stand there in a tuxedo, looking hungover like a fat, pastey, red-headed, hungover James Bond, but without all the cool gadgets and the people trying to kill me?

At the wedding reception, there are two songs that we're going to insist the DJ play under threat of severe drunken violence:

1) "The Monster Mash"

and

2) "Hot For Teacher"

No wedding celebration should be complete without them.

luvU,

-m

12:29 a.m. - 2001-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants