meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As if my job couldn't be more repellant

Dear Diary,

What are the symptoms of meningitis?

So I showed up to work 2 hours late due to excess sleep and slow trains. But having the good foresight to call ahead with a phony explanation, I knew I'd be very not in trouble. And I wasn't. My boss wasn't in the office again. But I did have 3 voicemail messages. They were about my boss. She is in the hospital now with a crazy high fever. I was also informed later in the afternoon that she was being tested for meningitis. This leaves me very fucking disconcerted.

Do I tell anyone? Why the fuck was I told? She sits about 10 feet from me.

Am I getting a headache?

I'm no doctor, but I've never heard of meningitis being a good thing. So I called my boss and wished her well and told her she has missed nothing and she sounded like a big pile of illin'. Is my neck getting stiff? I only work in a building with about 5000 other people and a fucking commodities exchange in it!

In other non-life-threatening disease news, I'm going to a focus group tonight about beer. It's fun to sit in a room wired for video and audio with a bunch of strangers, discussing how the shape of the beer bottle makes you feel. Hopefully by the end of the night, I will be $70 and one beer ahead of the game.

And I'm not a praying guy, but here goes:

God, what's up? Thank you for all the good things you provide for myself and my loved ones. Please help my boss through her illness, and please let it not be meningitis or any other very contagious syndrome. And please make the group I interviewed with, lo these many weeks ago, hire me soon. Thanking you in advance, [meximick]. Amen.

19:36:22 - 2001-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants