meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SuperLazyCheapWeekend

Hi diary,

So this weekend, our friend (and by extension, your friend) Melissa came out to Chicago to visit us (and by extension, you). We went to high school with her and she's from Michigan, going to school and we told her ahead of time that we were in precarious financial water (read: about $7 between the 3 of us) and she said she didn't mind and she'd even cook and clean for us. So we said "Right on, byotch!" leaving out the 'byotch' part. So we caught word that some band (I think it was called National Drag) was having a cd release party at Elbo Room and dispensing free beer from 9-10p, so we hustled out poste-haste. We ended up getting bombed on nexttonothing costing beer, never even listening to the bands, except meximick reached what he likes to refer to as the "Shut-Off Valve". I had reached the point in binge drinking where I think to myself, "I GOTTA GET OUTTA HERE." And I can no longer tolerate the environment and must run off. But we all stumbled out and made it home, where more beer was bought and though she was aware of the concept of a bong, Melissa needed guidance. The girl needed help. And help her we did. It was funny because she's really a sweet girl - very silly and nice and innocent, but with a touch of the mind of a degenerate, and much aligned with my mode of thinking.

Sunday was denoted as "Lazy American Worker Day". We sat on the couch all day. ALL DAY. We watched tv and movies and smoked bongs, and generally exclaimed how Sundays ruled and how lazy we were and how cool that was. We stayed in our sleeping clothes all day. Melissa remarked that it had only taken her about 24 hours to fall into our horrible, horrible lifestyle. Mark and I just saw her off on the train about an hour ago.

Ahh Mondays... So I decided that since today my boss was not coming in that I would be an hour late to work. So I did. And I also decided that I wasn't going to work very hard today. So I haven't. I also took off 2 hours today (I called it SuperLunchTyme) to hang out with Mark and Melissa. I might leave work early too. I just have no incentive to work hard. And it doesn't help that my boss is in my corner and doesn't mind me coming late to work and drinking all the free soda I can drink. I think I would like to go bowling with her.

And Shane McGowan and the Popes are coming to town in three weeks and it'll be a miracle in 2 ways - 1) if I can get a ticket and 2) if the band even makes it to the show.

I might leave early from work today. I just checked with my bank. It seems I have $.12 in my checking account.


Buy my superfun video game thing, yo!

19:48:03 - 2001-02-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants