meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

unhumor

I've felt better.

I stayed late @ work last night reading CordeliaMeg. She's fucking so brave and strong. But I don't think she thinks so.

I went to a mock trial at a law firm last night also. It was a kind of focus group for the firm to see how a jury might respond at trial. This law student was on his bike, stopped at an intersection. Along and over the one way crossing street sidewalk, there was a construction canopy to stop bricks and nails from hurting nice people's heads. There was no stop sign on the crossing street. Looking through the canopy support posts, he moved by the crosswalk and saw the street was clear, so he moved into traffic just as a cab came through at 30 mph and struck him. Paralyzed from the legs down.

So the law suit is against the construction firm and the city, and they came to a total figure of $68 million. They actually had the plaintiff "testify" for us. It was tough for everyone in the room. His lawyer later told us about his quality of life - his friends stop calling, his fiancee couldn't deal with his disability, he can't go to restaurants, and even with his law degree he doesn't earn nearly as much as an able-bodied lawyer does.

The jury deliberated for 30 min. If we had actually been the real jury, and not 10 people holding out for $80 and free pizza, we would have taken longer to decide. We settled on an award of $18.4 million, with most of the blame falling on the city.

I asked for my fee and ran out of there. It wasn't very fun.

I don't get it - the last focus group was about a bottle of booze, and we got to drink some. It sure was awful tasting, but I was able to buy better tasting booze later when I got my fee from the research company.

It started pouring rain at 5am. I woke up, and calmly closed the windows in the apartment. I felt awake and fine, and thought about making toast if we had had any bread instead of just beer, soda and margerine. I went back to bed, and when my alarm went off at 6:30, I felt like shit.

There was no way I was getting to work on time. My bed was a fucking tropical paradise. It was the only place in the world I ever wanted to be.

A steady breeze from the fan and the thunder interrupting the rain on the roof outside my window, and I felt so comfortable.

I sent off a few e-mails to company people. My desk is a mess, though I do no work - how'd that happen?

Boss traveling. Sheri has a sinus headache, so I'm sittin at my desk, where no one sees me, and I'm writing my diary

using four fingers, drinking water, and quietly listining to AphexTwin.

It's dark outside. No, wait, I just looked. It's light outside.

If I work for such a great company, how come the men's bathroom here is in the same condition as the one at the OTB during "Free Tacos and Tequila Day"?

14:40:01 - 2000-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants