meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lemme explain a lil' sumthin about my job...

So after two months here, I finally have some idea of what I do here... I'm a middleman. People I work under step to me with information. I take this information and imput it into "the system", which closely resembles a windows-based computer application. From there, people in St.Louis look at it and imput more info into "the system", and call on other people (who I cannot ever contact for some reason) to do the actual additions and reconfigurations or whatever. So at the end of every month, or "closing", I send emails to the people in St. Louis asking why order # 233232 has not been closed. They reply with an excuse. Or they don't. If they don't, I "escalate" the inquiry by contacting that person's supervisor.

Orders either close, which means my company gets paid, or they don't, which means the people I work under secretly harbor massive resentment to the people in St.Louis. I mean, hell I did my job, right?

--put in the order

--follow up on said order

--take secret naps when no one is looking

--fuck around on the internet almost all day

--listen to the theme from Shaft on a repeating loop for 30 minutes every day

--furrow my brow at computer screens, while exclaiming, "Gee, the system's down again. Why can't tech support fix it?"

--eat a scoop of peanut butter when I'm bored

--say the phrase "I was just about to do that this second" a lot

--eat a lot of candy. I can't help it, Sheri constantly fills her dish and I don't ever have time for proper nutrition.

--suffer panic attacks while scribbling frantically as a customer calls to complain, all the while calmly reassuring them that their problem will be resolved shortly (blatent lie)

The thing is... there really isn't a way to track how much I actually do in a day. Well, other than see my web page history and browse my 'cookies' which I am now going to delete on the half-hour. I don't make sales, and I don't fulfill orders. I follow-up on them, but most times than not, they get completed on their own, with no help from me.

I figure why rock the boat?

20:11:23 - 2000-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants