meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The White Sox just lost to the Mariners

Well, it's official. I am an awful person. Truly I am one who should remain mocked and scorned by all peoples of the world for my vast and numerous human as well as inhuman inadequacies. Every day I make a pledge to myself on the train into downtown, and it's not an unreasonable request I make of myself: I will get some work done today. And that's exactly how I phrase it, some work. Not redoing the archaic filing system here, but maybe pushing some data around on a spreadsheet that I know no one will ever see - I can't even bring myself to do that. My brother works harder than a dishwasher in a very busy restaurant that uses a lot of dishes and needs to order more dishes(OK, not my best analogy), and his little brother, who has had such a bedsore-inducing lazy life once again strikes gold in landing a useless position in a company which if I had to describe it to you, you would start looking around for a sharp instrument to wound me with.

So I rubbed my distended belly for a hour today after I got back from lunch. Of the hundreds of lunch possibilities within my grasp, what did Mike and I choose as our repast? $.99 Whoppers at Burger King. I suggested sushi, but noooo. Why God? Why is my hand and appetite led by the call of nutritionless non-food and non-food byproducts. I thought I was going to have to take a cab the three blocks back to my office. It was awful.

10 seconds ago, I just did a frantic search for a cent sign on the keyboard. You know, the one that looks like a small "c" that came after the number of cents. Where the hell did that symbol go? ! @ # $ % ^ & * ( ) , but no goddamned cents symbol.

I won an auction on ebay for a Lichtenstein poster, and got it for about 1/2 the price I found it to be everywhere. I think I have a problem. Please stop me from ever going to that site ever again. Thank you.

And I used the last of my working day to write this entry.

20:40:24 - 2000-10-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants