meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rant

I guess I really do have a lot of free time on my hands.

So I was watching 48 Hours (the CBS infotainment show) last night, and it was about the rise and fall of the internet IPO world. They showed the fall of boo.com (which made me smile) and a story about a 17 year old internet whiz kid who developed a corporate business plan at the age of 13 and who wants to be "the better Bill Gates". He owns a small multi-million dollar computer company.

The feeling of contempt I had for these ambitious assholes surprised even myself. How can these people devote so much of themselves to something so useless as their work? I just don't get it - the whole 80+ hour work week - I mean it's not like these people are curing cancer or anything incredibly human. They are not doctors or humanitarians, and the odds of an internet company that goes public actually helping individuals in any way other than financially are about zero. The 25-35 year olds featured in the story seemed so shallow, as if there was nothing in the world that affected them other than Silicon Valley and b2b networking and real estate figures. They don't have any real social lives - every public gathering is just another opportunity to network with a potential client or business partner. Married people in Silicon Valley devote themselves to their jobs, but don't have enough time for their families - many fall back on the excuse "I'm doing all this work for my children's future" which is just such bullshit. The story described how single people working in Silicon Valley have all this IPO money, but can't meet "that special someone". What a pity.

As I pick bubble gum off of my face and type this with one hand, I can only wonder - why did a story about fierce business ambition leave me so stupid with resentment? Is this what passes for infotainment nowadays?

17:54:19 - 2000-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants