meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good News and Bad News

Good news: Was offered a full time job at the law firm.

Bad news: Terrible, terrible benefits - After 90 fucking days, I can enroll in health insurance from someplace called Great West(?!) at 50% firm contribution, firm contributions to my 401k after ONE FUCKING YEAR. Oh, and I'll get 4 weeks of vacation... if I stay with the firm fifteen(15!) horrid, Godforsaken years. Otherwise, my first year I'll get one week of vacation after my first 6 months, and another week after my next six.

The manager never even asked me for my salary expectations, he just gave me the figure, which was less than I made at Reuters. He then told me about a "review after 90 days", which might result in a 5% increase. I told him that that was no good, that I needed that 5% to match the salary at my previous position. He said, "Alright. I won't fuss over a couple of dollars." So he changed it. After I signed the acknowledgement, he began on the benefits, "...and the insurance after 90 days..."

I said, "Whoh, hold on, Dick [his name is Dick. How fitting.]. You're talking about life insurance, right?"

He replied, a bit surprised, "No, health insurance."

"You have to be kidding me, Dick."

"No. That's the insurer's policy for new hires."

Me, stunned, "Who is your carrier?"

Oh, let's see here, [pulls out benefits card from wallet], "It's called OneHealth from Great West."

"I see, Dick. I've never heard of them."

[Long dramatic pause, me with look of grave concern on my face.]

"I have to take back my acceptance and think about this. I cannot be without health insurance for 3 months. [pause] I've never experienced this policy situation. Is it because of your high turnover rate?" [I think this was to remind him that his lawfirm sucks.]

He said that it was.

Also - I am currently sharing a deathtrap office (a dangerous amount of electrical cords surrounded by lots of paper) with a woman who the other day broke down, telling me how she is leaving her husband and taking her daughter. Can I really fucking complain about getting this job offer?!


The whole situation is really fucking bittersweet.

Sure it's a job offer, but with lousy benefits and a fairly unpleasant office environment. Also, since my sister is an attorney here, and has vouched for me, I definitely cannot take the job then quit in a month when I get a better job, otherwise she'll look like an ass.

I've done nothing for 1.5 hours today.

So after that stupid job offer conversation, I spoke with the other manager, who I am currently temping under, and explained the situation. I also remided her what a fantastic deal the firm is getting, not having to pay fat temp agency fees. I said, "With the situation what it is, I may not take the job, but I can stay and work in your department on a temp basis. But I will need more money."

She said, "Alright. Well, let me know what you decide."

fuckfuckfuckfuckfuck

Then I was gonna write more here about taking pictures of the fireworks at Navy Pier last night, and feeling depressed and desperately not wanting to work, and fantasizing too much about having $100 million dropped on my lap, and my mother, and wanting to read works by Phillip K. Dick, and how I can actually feel the weight of the skin on my face pushing down any chance of a smile.


But all in all, it could be worse.


9:02 a.m. - 2002-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants