meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lessons about doom

Hey! I'm back. Sorry I've been a dick in being incommunicado. Really there's no excuse, and I've only hurt myself. But I'm here and feel more like opening up.


Dangerdoom is all I've listened to this last week. It rules.

And this I found out from pitchfork about MF Doom:
Last year, hip-hop paragon MF Doom (aka Daniel Dumile) completely flipped his pancakes and released three albums under divergent personas: Take Me to Your Leader as King Geedorah, Vaudeville Villain as Viktor Vaughn, and another installment in his Special Herbs series as Metal Fingers himself. The move brought him his greatest success to date, and cemented his position at the forefront of underground hip-hop. Before the masked man terrorized the undieground with raspy rhymes and hallucinogenic beats, of course, he was Zev Love X, and he represented Five-Percenters and bouncy black power sophisticates with the underappreciated collective K.M.D. It wasn't meant to last: After just one album, his brother and bandmate DJ Subroc was struck by a car and killed, and the band's subsequent album was shelved by Elektra Records. Zev reappeared underground in 1997, after nearly five years in hibernation, and has since come correct with an array of records invoking and sampling everything from Stevie Wonder to 1950s monster movies."

F 50 Cent. I wanna see a movie about this guy.

10:30 p.m. - 2005-11-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants