meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2001: A Great American Odyssey

Rain predicted in Chicago all week. Fooley on that.

It's not that I just plain suck at pool, I discovered on Saturday, it's that I suck at it sober, and I suck at it when I'm really drunk. But there is a period of time (I'd say after about 4 beers) when I walk around the table and see all the angles and can make improbable shots. For a moment or two, I was Jackie Gleason as Minnesota Fats in "The Hustler", running the table in an impeccable silk suit with a cigarette hanging out of my mouth.

But then drunk guy came out, and embarrassed me. Damn him! Why wouldn't anyone else drink that last pitcher of beer?

So Sunday came way too early but it involved a free hungover trip to Six Flags Great America. Sure it ended up being only for about 5 hours, four and a half of which were spent waiting in mile-long lines, but I ended up wonderfully sun baked and walked the thin line between hazy consciousness and fun-induced delirium. I was shredded by the time we had to get back on the bus. I think it was the Tea Cups that did it to me. Mark and I decided that we would spin the cup as fast as we humanly could, and succeeded in turning our brain into caulk. It was insanity. I saw time bend as gravity and spatial orientation became utter nonsense. Centrifugal force tossed us about the cup as we struggled to hold on to the center wheel, clutching at it desperately, but at the same time refusing to cease spinning our amusement park death chamber. The experience lasted by my estimation, approximately 4 years.

I caught a whirlwind glance at a small boy in the cup next to us and gleamed a sense of awestruck wonderment from him.

I watched a hair replacement infomercial for just way too long last night. Genetics suck.

luvyou,

meximick

10:45 a.m. - 2001-05-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants