meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lessons learned?

How come they never made a sequel to "Easy Rider"? I mean aside from the brutal shotgunning of the two hippie protagonists at the end of the film, symbolizing an end to the idealism of the 60's and coupled with a shift toward conservatism and complacency among mainstream America as it entered the 1970's, tell me why it wouldn't work. And why were those backwoods rednecks in the film not portrayed in a more positive light? I mean there are probably a lot of honest, hardworking, smallminded Southern hicks out there who have a lot of good things to say, but where is their voice in contemporary cinema?

So Saturday night was spent in, as funding for bar hopping field trips is at an all-time low in my checking account. The details of the evening are not entirely clear, but here are some hard figures to think on:

3 people
3 cases of beer.
5-6 hours drinking
1 beer bottle smashed against the fireplace in a fit of drunken wrath. (I did ask politely to have the volume turned down the first time.)

Also what's a solid night of binge drinking without threats made with knives and swords in hand?

Result: a huge fucking mess of an apartment. People too hungover to go bowling at 7:30pm the next night at the bowling alley 1/2 a block from said apartment. Various bodily injuries whose origins are undeterminable.
And many half-hearted pledges to never do something like this again.

*************************************************

Oh, and the bottle breaking thing... I was really fucking tired, and all I could hear pumping through my wall was a Weird Al polka medley, which is in no way conducive to sleep. When my request for volume lowering was rudely brushed off with a "shut up and go the fuck to sleep!" my anger was piqued.
It really wasn't as dramatic as it sounds. Mark and Mike broke out laughing, saying it was the greatest thing I had ever done. Mark finished his beer and hurled the bottle at the fireplace in a vainglorious attempt to recapture the gravity of my bold statement, but it wouldn't break...

The lesson learned? For really good bottle smashing to emphasize that you aren't "fucking around", you need to harvest the distilled anger from within.

14:04:43 - 2000-11-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants