meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meet my old friend, irresponsibility

Ahhh. Friday. That word is one of the sweetest sounds in the English language.
Right next to it's neighbors "payday" and "whiskey".

So I wore a tshirt to work today. Having received no documentation as to how to dress on a casual Friday, I utilized my normal weekend clothing selection process of:
Looking in my drawers.
Looking at the floor.
Back at the drawers.
Again, at the floor.
Moving a bag or box to see what's behind it.
Finally discovering a lonely, forgotten tshirt, barely worn, begging to embrace me.

So at work, a co-worker looked at me with surprise, saying I was lucky the sales manager was on vacation, because tshirts are not welcome. I said, "Hey, my boss is in NYC. And this is my casual, and I received nothing in writing pertaining to the casual friday dress code." suckers.

And everyone I speak with regarding my work situation seems to see the bright sunbeamy light of new opportunity and new challenges, but all I see is the infuriated salespeople on top of me, kicking and a'gougin' in the blood and the mud and the beer. All because I fucked up their accounts. The thread that holds my life together is irresponsibility. Why have I spent a good portion of my morning talking with the one who rocks the party? Why did I spend much of yesterday watching cartoons at work? And why the hell do I know more about pot and its cultivation than I do about the software whose sales I coordinate? It's for the same reason my credit card companies have put out a contract on me. For the same reason that one of my goals in life is to attend the Cannibus Cup in Amsterdam. For the same reason if given a choice between Jim Beam and finding inner peace through religious enlightenment, order me a double.

It's called irresponsibility.

and man oh man do I love it.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Oh, and I just got a raise... I'll stop complaining for a while now...

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, and I just got my new job title after I got my first business cards ever.

I'm now referred to as a "CAC" (which I have, in protest, decided to pronounce as "cock"). So... I'm a cock.

16:58:06 - 2000-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants