meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you, Elvis.

Got to meet Elvis Costello on Sunday.

After the 5 song in-store perfoemance (songs from his new disc sound awesome), we waited for the promised signing. Of course, having read the rules pertaining to the signing ("Only copies of his new liner notes are to be signed."), I didn't bring that awesome Belgian copy of "My Aim Is True" I have, brought as a X-mas present the year before last for Mark, which I even framed, all because I didn't want to hand it to my rock hero only to be shunned and mocked by my disregard for the rules by both said rock hero as well as the indie-rock geek fans in line behind me (the fuckers) not to mention Tower Records employees. But there would be no shunning this day, dammit! People brought LPs, CDs, guitars, Cuisinarts, everything! And he happily signed them! I told the girl she should have asked him to sign her ass, as rock stars tend to be asked things like that all the time. I wonder if autographing asses can get old. I mean, sure, you'll run into a few unpleasant asses out of the bunch, but all you have to do is scribble the Sharpie for half a second, and you're done. Prolly the really awesome asses you're asked to sign more than make up for those unsavory ass-signing instances.

But anyway, all I could think about was that awesome LP I should have brought.

I walked up to him and thanked him for doing the in-store, as I couldn't have made his show later that night. He said something along the lines of "no problem" or "you're welcome", and offered, "We'll be back in Chicago in June, too." And I said, "Cool. Do you know where?" And Elvis fucking Costello said, "At the Chicago Theatre."

I said, "Thanks, Elvis."


Getting the concert update from the rockstar himself is much more satisfying than contacting Ticketmaster, I assure you.


10:57 a.m. - 2002-04-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants