meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Awful airlines and Fudrucker's

Why is it only now, at the end of the work day, that I realize I forgot to wear deodorant today. Not that I've been doing anything resembling strenuous, B.O.-inducing work, but it would have been nice to remember it before now.

So I went downstairs today, looking to buy something. I felt kind of hungry and/or thirsty. I just felt I should buy something. I have no idea how I settled on Jujubes. Yeah, I should have read that review. They suck more than anything that has ever sucked before.

Getting to NY was a big bastard of a Bataan Death March. I was scheduled to get in to MacArthur Field, Long Island at 11:00p via Continental. Suffice to say, I arrived at JFK at 2:40am on American. I had been sitting next to a Russian guy who was the only person on the flight laughing at the "Honeymooners" and "I Love Lucy" tape loop they put on. Loudly. And he had no sense of sharing the elbow rest, the lousy foreigner! I spent the whole flight in basically a US-Russia chess match for the elbow rest between seats 23A and 23B. After circling Laguardia (which I had decided was better than being stranded overnight in Cleveland) for 2 hours, I really thought "Just land the fucking plane! Put me on the ground now! Please crash this fucker, I don't care!" But I got there safely.

So I went to the U.S. Open on Saturday. It was fun as hell. I watched Venus Williams wail on some white girl. It was great. I also watched Marat Safin beat this guy from Morocco. 12 hours of tennis though can really tax you. The stands at Arthur Ashe Stadium were steep, and I kept thinking if I leaned a little further forward, I would fall all the way onto the court below. It freaked me out.

I said no to going to the Open on Sunday, and just hung out with my brother and sister-in-law. It had been over a year and a half since I last saw them, and it was obviously too long. Long Island, however, I could do without forever. The traffic and the look-alike towns really bothered me after about 10 mintues.

I think I may visit again for Thanksgiving. We'll see.

Oh, and I got the opportunity to enjoy the most American of gastronomic repasts. I ate at a Fudrucker's. It was delicious. (BTW-I'm the evil-mustachioed guy on the left.)

luv you,

M

4:30 p.m. - 2001-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants