meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm off to Strong Island

I'm a lazy, lazy person.

And I have a small cough as I've been illin' since Wednesday. I helped the girl move in to a new apartment last week and turned my back into a mess. But I recovered. I also had a doctor's appointment on Wednesday where I didn't even mention that I was sick. Suffice to say the visit involved the doctor touching my bad uh-oh no-no spot. It went surprisingly well. I just went into the doctor's office, threw down my belongings, and said, "Hey Doc, check this out!" He seemed impressed. He moistened his lips, then he said, "I'm the receptionist. The doctor is over there."

I often utilize levity to broach sensitive subjects.

And nothing's wrong apparently. Me and my overactive imagination!

So the Cubs continue to disappoint. Three games back of Houston. But the good thing is the girl's apartment is just east of Wrigley Field, past the 'L' tracks, so when they lose, you can hear 30,000 people sigh quietly at the same time.

I'm off to Long Island today. My brother scored tickets to the U.S. Open.

You know what's funny? One of the jackass sales managers in this office took his family on a vacation in Minnesota. When they got to the fishing cabin, they found it was infested with bats. I thought that was the funny part (seeing as they weren't attacked or made contact with them or anything). But the really funny part is the jackass became so paranoid that someone would catch rabies that he made the entire family get rabies shots. Him, his wife and all 4 of the kids. Even the 6 month old (which in itself is very sad). HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. He's a dope. I was also told that in the months before the Y2K panic, he started stockpiling canned goods and bottled water, and was sure that it would be a horrific end-of-the-world scenario.

And that made me smile.

9:09 a.m. - 2001-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants