meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a letter to my prom date

Dear Jaime,

Word.

So where the hell are you?

I think you have to make the jump into the corporate whore world, and I'll jump back into the restaurant whore world. there is usually better drugs there, anyway. I need to get the hell out of this job and into a vat of whiskey. I need drugs. this place is making me too bitter, and I'm too young and beautiful to be so bitter.

I thought about this the other day - why do we work? It's something that we as a society have been socialized into - you graduate from school, and you get a 9-5 job. Get married within 5-10 years. 2 kids about 3 years after. Divorce after a 7 year struggle. Hit the bottle and the narcotics with reckless abandon after you lose the Schmidt account because all you can think about is her and her successful career and her new husband who just made the Pro Bowl for the 7th consecutive year...

Is that really why we work? Are you fucking kidding me? No. You're not even close. We work because we need money. Would you take all the bullshit that comes with waiting on customers if not for their money and your habit of reaching into the till for an occasional $20? Would you take the sexual harassment you boss gives you if not for the paychecks he signs? Probably. Because you're a freak who gets off on that brand of nonsense.

The only reason I get up at the ungodly hour of 6:45am and debate whether I should take another sick day just so I can catch the next episode of Degrassi Junior High is so on every 15th and 30th I can call the computer guy at the bank who tells me I'm temporarily rich. I can then proceed to blow most of it on nitrous cartridges and legos. Yes it's a sad little life I've carved out for myself, but its either this or back to my sitcom on UPN starring me and Steve Urkel entitled, "Me and Steve Urkel".

Read this and write back.

meximick

****************************************************************************

So I just sent that to the girl I took to the prom, Jaime. Yeah, she asked me, which was not on a dare. I didn't answer her right away. I kept stringing her along - not returning her calls, ignoring her when I saw her in the school halls, making her feel awkward and hurt, so that when I finally said "yes", it was like she had won the lottery.

I'm kidding about that.

I said "yes" before she had finished the question. I saw her over Thanksgiving, and she looked phenomenal and I'm just going to throw it out there that we should have gotten together long ago. I gave her this site's URL at one point, but whatever. Maybe she thought so too. And now she's in Boston and I'm in Chicago and she should prolly move out here because I'm about to sign my lease for another year.

16:29:25 - 2001-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants