meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an entry about weather

I hate my raincoat. It provides no breathability whatsoever, hence after walking 3 blocks to the El station, beads of sweat form on the forehead, and my back is a humid day in Acapulco.

And I was 20 minutes late to work today. And I'm still not gonna do much at all today. And when I go home today, I'll hop on the stationary bike for a while, then drink one beer. One 100oz. beer. And then pass out. Today is gray and humid. I can't deal with such a big weather change. Last week, I was freezing my ass off. Today as I tried my usual disconcerted commuter persona, engrossed in a book, quietly elbowing the huge fucking bastard of a jackass to my right to get him to not make physical contact with me, I was sweating like a malaria victim. Too much, too soon. Such is Chicago weather. Or maybe I do have malaria...

Anyway, I do like the change of seasons. I think if I had to contend with the same weather everyday, like the same sunny perfectness of Los Angeles, I'd go insane. It would get boring for me. I need distinct separation of seasons. Four seasons.

In Chi, there are about 3 seasons, really. Winter, which we have just gotten through, and now about one week of springtypey weather. Then on to silly summer heat and lots of sweating, then fall. I like fall. It's like the world is settling in for winter. Getting comfortable. Relaxing. Preparing for sleep.

And then winter is a cold bite in the ass. The phrase of choice to deal with the bitter cold and sidewaysblowing snow is: "Holy shit! It's cold out there!" But it is fuckinggorgeous.

I've lived in the cowchipbingo boondocks country, and now the big city, and I hope I will never get tired of a timid snowfall, or a crazy lightning storm, one where you're sure that a bolt will land right in front of you, or a fierce, driving rain that comes down in waterfall sheets.

And I've had this window up all day. Started this entry at 9:20am, and now it's 2pm.

My boss just showed me an email attachment she received. It was a dancing penis. I laughed like hell. Should I be concerned?

And it's friday.

loveyou.

meximick

9:22 p.m. - 2001-04-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants