meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Wanna be a Pigeon.

Word.

So I had lunch with the girl today. Sushi. Not bad for a coffee shop/sushi place. Then we sat by the huge fountain and as I looked around at that corporate oasis, where office people sat in the sun and pretended they didn't have to go back to their cubes in 15 to 45 minutes. I told her I thought I'd like to be a pigeon. She bristled at the thought of being viewed as the "rat of the bird world". She asked, "What about a pelican?". I said no (the huge bill-neck thing and chomping down huge fish in massive gulps is really unappealing). She suggested penguins, whom I adore, but I don't adore their Arctic habitat.

I like pigeons. Sure, they're filthy, and sometimes annoying, but they're also very self-sufficient and creative. They're survivors. They're close to humans, but they're not domesticated. Out of a hundred people they pester, at least 1 or 2 will throw you some bread crumbs. Sure 4 or 5 will throw a rock or chase you, but have you ever tried to chase a pigeon? You can't do it. They're crafty as hell.

It's not a great life all the time, but they're free.

And they don't have to go back to their cubes after lunch.

3:24 p.m. - 2001-07-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants