meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's Friday, you ain't got no job....

Back to Friday. Went out after work to meet Mike and his law firm crew. Pleasant people. One girl proceeded to share a lot with me. Subjects of conversation ranged from how it wasn't the most important thing for her to have an orgasm in bed, to the fact that she really liked the shirt she was wearing, even though you could pretty much see right through it. She proved her last point to me, unsolicited.

I told her, "You know, you really gotta stop that."

She later took the train home with Mike. They went the wrong way and ended up making out on the El platform waiting for the next train.

Oh, she had told him the previous week that she and her boyfriend went ring shopping the previous week. Yeah, so Mike's a homewrecker. Good work, kid.

So after leaving the bar, I went home to find that Mark had called off from work and was enjoying many beers. I joined him in this. I'm not sure of the sequence of events, but Mike arrived later, fresh with tales of making out with forbidden, nearly-engaged co-workers. Beer was drank. More was purchased.

Eventually we got to the topic of respect for others. Evidentally, Mark was irked at the times (2, I believe) in the past when either Mike or myself had started fires in our fireplace, and Mark had been the one to extinguish the ashes, thereby saving our lives and the lives of our neighbors in the greater Chicagoland area. Apparently, we had never thanked him for this. He emphasized his numerous contributions to the household, to which myself and Mike responded with, "So what?", and "Fuck you!" respectively. Mark didn't take very kindly to our imput. He became frustrated at my lack of concern and kicked my in the side as I put a cd in the changer. Words were said. Mark sat down. But as Mike was leaving the bathroom, Mark threw down his glasses and charged at Mike. I queued up "Damn, it Feels Good to be a Gangsta" by The Geto Boyz, and listened to the scuffle. Ultimately, all I heard was Mike, as he said, "Let go. Stop, or I'll keep choking you."

They were both on the floor, Mike with his back against the hallway wall, Mark in front of him, as he pinned one of Mark's arms between his legs, and the other behind his back. With his free arm, he wrapped it around Mark's neck. Honestly, it was a good move. Hard to get out of. I got between, telling Mike to let him go. I mean the kid was turning purple. But Mark would not give up the struggle. As he worked to break free, Mike clamped down even harder. But I jumped in, at great expense to my personal safety, and finally separated the two.

I won't bore you with the rest of the details, but Mark believed we had not given him the respect, monetarily or otherwise, that he deserved for helping Mike and I during our 1st two months in Chicago. I can't speak for Mike, but in my books I am $150 up on Mark, having paid part of his rent just last month.

We ended the night in drunken embraces, apologizing, reassuring each other that everything was gonna be alright. Mike and Mark later had a good-natured debate on the tenets of Tai Chi vs. Jujitsu, and all was ok. For the time being.

I'm so fucking glad I live with guys I consider to be my brothers. If not for that, one or all of us would have been arrested by now.

14:10:43 - 2001-03-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants