meximick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

soberly

I closed my eyes on the train this morning, just before my stop, and had an eerie vision of my future: A darkened subway stop. The plastic sound of a slow, synthesized 2/4 snare and high-hat beat on the 32-key Casio I used to play "Hot Cross Buns" on in 7th grade music class. Me hunched over the tiny electronic piano on my smashed-together knees, wailing away on the keys. The music becomes familiar. It's "Purple Rain". But I'm not at the beginning. I'm at the middle-end, when Prince really got into it, and I was belting it out with one hand reaching up to Heaven - "I Onnnlleeyy Waaannnaa Seeee You - Puuurple Raaa-eeyaaauunnn."

So long as I can avoid that becoming a reality, I'm doing alright in life.

I decided to stop drinking last night when I realized I was nearly broke, with a week before I get paid and I mentally rummaged through my receipts for the last week and determined I had spent nearly a third of my paycheck on alcohol. I will contribute to no more binge drinking.

If I'm going for responsibility in my life, I have to go all the way.

Well, most of the way... I will always love pot. It's portable, smells good, easy to use, and makes many fun things (such as drinking) even funner. Of course it does have the tendency of making simple things (such as ordering food or paying for things in a store) into baffling ordeals in which you need to ask for help from friends who don't "lose their shit" while dealing with strangers. It is completely possible to do constructive things while high such as clean your apartment or shop for groceries, much moreso than if one were drinking, which itself can lead to destructive things such as inhaling a case of nitrous cartridges or throwing lit fireworks out your apartment window onto the busy street below or burning various things in your fireplace.

And I love you.

-meximick

13:42:01 - 2001-01-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

smartypants